Eres Holz

logo

BIOGRAPHY

Eres Holz© Neda Navaee

Eres Holz is a German composer of Israeli origin. He has been living in Germany since 2003. 1998 - 2002 he completed a bachelor's degree in composition with Ruben Seroussi at the Buchmann-Mehta School of Music at Tel Aviv University. He graduated with 'magna cum laude'. During his studies he was supported by a scholarship for gifted students from the Tel Aviv University. 2004 - 2012 followed a diploma and master's degree in composition with Hanspeter Kyburz and computer music with Wolfgang Heiniger at the Academy of Music Hanns Eisler in Berlin. His master's thesis focused on the theoretical and artistic research of algorithmic process models in composing.

Eres Holz is a freelance composer. He is also active in teaching and repeatedly in music education contexts. In 2022 he receives a lectureship at the german national competition Bundeswettbewerb Jugend komponiert (en: youth composing). Since 2008 he has been a lecturer in algorithmic composition at the Hanns Eisler Academy of Music in Berlin. 2008 he was a lecturer for algorithmic composition at the Berlin University of the Arts. 2008 he assisted the IRCAM-coordinated ECMCT project: European Course for Musical Composition and Technologies at the Technical University of Berlin. 2011 - 2012 he was the artistic director of the Kurt Schwitters School team as part of the music education project Querklang, a cooperation project of the Berlin University of the Arts in cooperation with the festival for Contemporary Music MaerzMusik. 2011 he had a position as accompanist at the Theater Hans Wurst Nachfahren within the education program of the Berliner Philharmoniker.

Eres Holz receives regularly grants, commissions and prizes. 2020 his project „MACH for violoncello and live electronics“, a collaboration with Zoé Cartier, was funded by the Musikfonds e.V.. 2017 he was Composer in Residence of the German public broadcasting radio station (Deutschlandfunk) and of the Kunst-Station Sankt Peter in Cologne. 2013, 2014 and 2015 he received composition grants from the Berlin Senate. 2014 his composition 'Vier Schatten' for brass quintet was awarded at the Carl von Ossietzky - Composition Prize. 2012 he received the Residence Grant from the Berlin Senate at the Cité Internationale des Arts in Paris. 2012 he was nominated for the German Music Authors' Award in the Promotion of Young Talents. 2005, 2008 and 2010 he was awarded prizes in the composition category at the Hanns Eisler Prize for composition and interpretation of Contemporary Music.

His works are performed at podiums and festivals of New Music. For example at Ultraschall (RBB) | Ars Nova (SWR) | Impuls Festival Graz | Südseite nachts – Musik der Jahrhunderte | TonLagen Hellerau | Forum neuer Musik (DLF) | Klangwerkstatt Berlin | ZKM | Unerhörte Musik | Impuls Festival (Sachsen-Anhalt) | Staatsoper im Schiller Theater Berlin | Konzerthaus Berlin | ZeitGenuss (Karlsruhe) | Podium Worpswede e.V. | Theater und Musik in Ahrensburg e.V. | Totally-Trumpet (Akademie der Künste Berlin) | Tagliot. Extensive portrait programs were broadcasted on ARD, Deutschlandradio, Deutschlandfunk and Deutschlandfunk Kultur, SWR, Radiobremen, Hessischer Rundfunk, Bayerischer Rundfunk and on Kol Ha'Musica.

Since 2014 he is a member of the Academy of German Music Authors. 2015, 2016, 2017 and 2018 he was a member of the jury of the Initiative Neue Musik Berlin e.V.. 2020 he was appointed to the jury of the Berlin Senate to promote composers in the field of Art Music.

Eres Holz lives and works in Berlin.

Eres Holz

logo

BIOGRAFIE

Eres Holz

Eres Holz ist ein israelisch-deutscher Komponist. Er wurde 1977 nahe Tel Aviv, in Rechovot geboren. Von 1998 bis 2002 absolvierte er ein Bachelor-Studium im Fach Komposition bei Ruben Seroussi an der Buchmann-Mehta School of Music der Tel Aviv Universität. Er schloss sein Studium mit ‘magna cum laude‘ ab. Während des Studiums wurde er durch ein Begabtenstipendium der Tel Aviv Uni gefördert. 2004 bis 2012 folgte ein Diplom- und Masterstudium im Fach Komposition bei Hanspeter Kyburz sowie Computer-Musik bei Wolfgang Heiniger an der Hochschule für Musik ‚Hanns Eisler‘ Berlin. Schwerpunkt seiner Masterarbeit war die theoretische wie künstlerische Forschung von algorithmischen Prozessmodellen beim Komponieren.

Eres Holz ist freischaffender Komponist. Zudem ist er in der Lehre tätig und wiederholt in musikpädagogischen Zusammenhängen. Seit 2008 wirkt er als Dozent im Fach Algorithmische Komposition an der Hochschule für Musik ‚Hanns Eisler‘ Berlin. 2008 war er Lehrbeauftragter für Algorithmische Komposition an der Universität der Künste Berlin. 2008 assistierte er bei dem von IRCAM koordinierten ECMCT-Projekt‚ European Course for Musical Composition and Technologies‘ an der Technischen Universität Berlin. 2011 bis 2012 war er der künstlerische Leiter im Team der Kurt-Schwitters-Schule im Rahmen des musikpädagogischen Projektes ‚Querklang‘, ein Kooperationsprojekt der Universität der Künste Berlin in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Festival für zeitgenössische Musik ‚MaerzMusik‘. Im Jahr 2011 hatte er eine Stelle als Korrepetitor beim ‚Theater Hans Wurst Nachfahren‘ im Rahmen des Education-Programms der Berliner Philharmoniker.

Eres Holz erhält regelmäßig Stipendien, Aufträge und Preise. 2020 wurde sein Projekt „MACH für Violoncello und Live-Elektronik“, eine Zusammenarbeit mit Zoé Cartier, von dem Musikfonds e.V. gefördert. 2017 war er Composer in residence des Deutschlandfunks und der Kunst-Station Sankt Peter in Köln. 2013, 2014 und 2015 erhielt er Kompositionsstipendien des Berliner Senats. 2014 wurde seine Komposition ‚Vier Schatten‘ für Blechbläserquintett beim Carl von Ossietzky – Kompositionspreis ausgezeichnet. 2012 erhielt er das Aufenthaltsstipendium des Berliner Senats an der Cité Internationale des Arts in Paris. 2012 wurde er für den Deutschen Musikautorenpreis in der Kategorie Nachwuchs-förderung nominiert. In den Jahren 2005, 2008 und 2010 wurde er mit Preisen in der Kategorie Komposition beim Hanns-Eisler-Preis für Komposition und Interpretation zeitgenössischer Musik ausgezeichnet.

Seine Werke werden bei Podien und Festivals neuer Musik aufgeführt. Zum Beispiel bei Ultraschall (RBB) | Ars Nova (SWR) | Impuls Festival Graz | Südseite nachts – Musik der Jahrhunderte | TonLagen Hellerau | Forum neuer Musik (DLF) | Klangwerkstatt Berlin | ZKM, Unerhörte Musik | Impuls Festival (Sachsen-Anhalt) | Staatsoper im Schiller Theater Berlin | Konzerthaus Berlin | ZeitGenuss (Karlsruhe) | Podium Worpswede e.V. | Theater und Musik in Ahrensburg e.V. | Totally-Trumpet (Akademie der Künste Berlin) | Tagliot. Auf ARD und Deutschlandradio, Deutschlandfunk, Deutschlandfunk Kultur, SWR, Radiobremen, Hessischer Rundfunk, Bayerischer Rundfunk sowie auf Kol Ha'Musica liefen ausführliche Porträtsendungen.

Seit 2014 ist Holz Mitglied bei der Akademie Deutscher Musikautoren. 2015, 2016, 2017 und 2018 war er Jurymitglied der Initiative neue Musik Berlin e.V. 2020 ist er in die Jury des Senats von Berlin zur Förderung von Arbeitsstipendien der Ernsten Musik berufen worden.

Eres Holz lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.